Live Scores Upcoming Results
08-Mar-2018 17:24:00 GMT
Ban v Ind, 2nd T20I, Colombo

Unadkat and Dhawan guide India to 6-wicket win

Colombo: India notched their first win of the Nidahas Trophy 2018 after losing their first match. Bangladesh bared the brunt of India’s aggression at Colombo on Thursday.

It was once again, Shikhar Dhawan, who played a pivotal role for India. His knock of 55 ensured, India won the match by six wickets and secured their first points of the series.

India top-order flopped yet again with Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant failing miserably. Rohit weakness against left-armers was his undone, Mustafizur Rahman getting the better of him. Pant played an extravagant shot only to have his stumps rattled by Taskin Ahmed.

Suresh Raina too lived dangerously after Mehdi Hasan dropped him at fine leg. Dhawan, on the other hand continued his from the first T20I to keep India’s required run-rate in check.

Dhawan along with Raina steadied India’s ship with a 68 run stand. Raina delt in singles more than fours and sixes. He finally fell for 28 against Rubel. Dhawan single-handedly anchored India’s innings near a win. He scored his 6th T20I fifty inclusive of 5 fours and 2 sixes.

Having taken India near victory, Dhawan fell on 55 off Taskin Ahmed. Manish Pandey played a sweet little cameo of  27 runs. He along with Dinesh Karthik (2*) rode India past Bangladesh’s target with 6 wickets to spare.

Brief scores:
India 140 for 4 (Dhawan 55, Raina 28, Rubel 2-24) beat Bangladesh 139 for 8 (Das 34, Sabbir 30, Unadkat 3-38, Shanka 2-32) by 6 wickets.

Earlier, Bangladesh managed 139 for 8, with 30s from Liton Das and Sabbir Rahman. Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal picked 2 wickets each, while Jaydev Unadkat claimed a 3-for.

Indian bowlers took wickets at regular intervals and also choked the rival batsmen by not letting them score freely.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, tried to increase the scoring rate but at the end, it only resulted in their losing wickets.

Put in to bat, Bangladesh openers Tamim Iqbal (15) and Soumya Sarkar (14) tried to take benefit of the powerplay but in the third over pacer Jaidev Unadkat dismissed Sarkar to make it 20/1.

After adding 15 more runs to the score with new batsmen Liton Das (34), Iqbal was also sent back to the pavilion by pacer Shardul Thakur.

With the scoreboard reading 35/2, wicketkeeper Mushfiqur Rahim (18) arrived at the crease and played some beautiful shots, but his 14-ball knock was cut short by seamer Vijay Shankar in the ninth over.

Untroubled by the fall of wickets, Das continued to play his shots but lack of support from the other end started bothering the batsmen.

Skipper Mahmudullah (1) was also dismissed cheaply. Now with half of the side back in the dug-out, it all depended on Das, who was playing beautifully by rotating the strike with new batsmen Sabbir Rahman (30).

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links