Scores Upcoming Results
11-Mar-2018 15:45:00 GMT
SL v Ind, 4th T20I, Colombo

India, Sri Lanka aim to push for final spot

Colombo: India face Sri Lanka in the fourth match of the Nidahas Trophy on Monday.

Sri Lanka come into the match after being stunned by Bangladesh on Saturday. They set a target of 215 for Bangladesh to chase and the latter reached the total with seven balls to spare largely thanks to Mushfique Rahim’s 72 off 35 balls.

Sri Lanka themselves had stunned India in the opening match of the series. Despite the fact that India have rested several key players, including captain and ace batsman Virat Kohli, Sri Lanka’s poor recent form made them favourites in the match. But the hosts pipped the favourites, chasing down 175 with more than an over remaining.

Shikhar Dhawan has far been the star performer for India, having scored 145 runs in the first two matches. Perera comes second with 140 and has been pretty much a focal point for Sri Lanka so far.

India have a few issues to be sorted out in their batting line up. Captain Rohit Sharma’s dry run from South Africa has continued into this series and India will need him to fire.

Rishabh Pant has thus far failed to fire and, with someone like KL Rahul waiting in the wings, he will be required to show hs worth if he gets selected.

India also made a number of errors on the field in the match against Bangladesh. At the same time, Suresh Raina’s return and Manish Pandey’s consistency with the bat augurs well for the visitors.

Jaydev Unadkat has shown so far that he can hold his own at the international level. Dhawan’s consistency with the bat means that dismissing him early could be the difference between victory and defeat for Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka, meanwhile, will be feeling disappointed after having failed to defend an imposing total of 214/6 against Bangladesh.

With captain Dinesh Chandimal suspended for two games due to a serious over-rate offence, Thisara Perera will lead the side. Dhananjaya de Silva is likely to slot into Chandimal's position. There is also a chance of Suranga Lakmal replacing either Dushmantha Chameera or Nuwan Pradeep.

Teams from:

Sri Lanka:
Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera (Capt.), Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Dananjaya de Silva

India: Rohit Sharma (Capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Rishabh Pant (wk), Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj

Pitch and conditions

There is a chance that evening showers could interrupt play. A pitch favourable for batting is expected.

Stats and trivia

Chasing sides have won all three games so far. The two highest successful pursuits at this venue are now Bangladesh's chase of 215 on Saturday, and Sri Lanka's chase of 175 against India, in the tournament opener.

Match facts

Monday 12 March 2018
Start tune: 17:00 local (13:30 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links