Scores Upcoming Results
26-Apr-2018 12:28:00 GMT
ICC news

2021 Champions Trophy replace by World T20

Kolkata: Again say goodbye to the Champions Trophy again and get ready for back-to-back editions of the World Twenty20 instead.

The future of the Champions Trophy is on shaky ground after the ICC board approved replacing the 2021 Champions Trophy, scheduled to be held in India, with a World T20 in the same year.

The World T20 will be also played in Australia in 2020.

ICC Members have signed off a new Future Tours Programme (FTP) for 2019-2023 that incorporates the introduction of a World Test Championship and an additional ICC World T20 event in place of the Champions Trophy in 2021.

This provides opportunities for 16 teams to compete at a global level with a sub-regional, regional and global qualification process every two years, giving more regular cricket to more Members.

The final structure of the FTP (19-23), which received unanimous backing, includes the following:

  • ICC Cricket World Cup – 2019, 2023
  • ICC World T20 – 2020, 2021
  • ICC World Test Championship Final – 2021, 2023
  • World Test Championship
  • Cycle 1 – 2019-2021
  • Cycle 2 – 2021-2023
  • ICC Cricket World Cup Qualification League – 2020-2022

All Member women’s teams will be awarded T20I status on 1 July 2018, whilst all Member men’s teams will be awarded T20I status on 1 January 2019 following the cut-off point for qualification to the ICC World T20 2020.

Rankings for women and men will be introduced in October 2018 and May 2019 respectively.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links