Scores Upcoming Results
08-May-2018 12:38:00 GMT
India vs Afghanistan, only Test, Bengaluru

Rahane to Lead India in One-Off Test Against Afghanistan

Mumbai: Karun Nair and Kuldeep Yadav have been included in the 15-man squad for the one-off Test against Afghanistan, the BCCI announced on Tuesday.

Ajinkya Rahane has been named captain in the absence of regular skipper Virat Kohli, who has opted for a county stint with Surrey instead.

India squad: Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur

The selectors have rested Rohit Sharma ahead of India's tour of Ireland and England.

Cheteshwar Pujara and Ishant Sharma, who are plying their trade in the county circuit in England will return to participate in Afghanistan's first-ever Test match.

Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been rested with the selectors opting to add Shardul Thakur and an extra spinner in Kuldeep to the squad.

Afghanistan will play their maiden Test match against India from 14-18 June in Bengaluru, a massive fillip to the war-ravaged country's cricketing profile.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links