Live Scores Upcoming Results
21-Sep-2018 02:49:00 GMT
Ban v Ind, Asia Cup Super Four Match 1, Dubai

Injury-hit India await Bangladesh on the rebound

Dubai: The first match of Super Four stage of Asia Cup 2018 is an encounter between India and Bangladesh in Dubai on Friday.

Both teams have played sixteen games against each other in the Asia Cup, with India winning fifteen of them. It will be their seventeenth encounter in the history of Asia Cup.

India successfully defeated Pakistan on 19 September by eight wickets. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the Player of the Match, as he picked three crucial wickets, that of openers Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul -Haq, and Hasan Ali. Part-time spinner Kedar Jadhav impressed with the ball as he dismissed Sarfraz Ahmed, Asif Ali and Shadab Khan.

As a result, Pakistan were bowled out for 162 of their 43.1 overs. Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur won't be available in the rest of the tournament due to injuries. Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar and Siddarth Kaul have replaced them.

Khaleel Ahmed had an impressive debut against Hong Kong, where his bowling figures were 3/48. Deepak Chahar can contribute to the team both ball and bat, while either Deepak Hooda or Khaleel should be given a chance. The spin unit will mostly depend upon Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. The seam department will be focusing on Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar.

The opening partnership of 86 between Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan helped them to chase the target, with the pair scoreing 52 and 46 respectively. Also, a 60-run partnership between Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik enabled them to chase the target quickly.

On otherhand, Afghanistan defeated Bangladesh in the 6th match of the competition by 136 runs. The Tigers are looking to bounce back against India.

Bangladesh are likely to select Mushfiqur Rahim and Mustafizur Rahman, who are the key performers of the team. Rahim is the highest individual scorer in the tournament, during which he has scored 144 runs.

Abu Hider Rony had a great ODI debut against Afghanistan, as he picked up the wickets of Ihsanullah Janat and Rahmat Shah. The batting will mostly depend upon Liton Das, Rahim, Shakib al Hasan, Mominul Haque, Mohammad Mithun and Mahmudullah.

The main spinners will be Mosaddek Hossain and Mehidy Hasan. The skipper will be leading the pace attack of the team.

Teams from

Rohit Sharma (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Lokesh Rahul, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul

Bangladesh: Liton Das (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Mominul Haque, Nazmul Islam, Ariful Haque

Pitch and conditions
The temperature in Dubai is forecast as 'very warm' throughout the day. It will feel like 43 degrees in the afternoon.

Stats and trivia
India are on a nine-match winning run against Bangladesh across formats, going back three years. That includes one Test, two ODIs and six T20Is.

Match facts
Friday September 21, 2018
Start time: 1530 local (11:30 GMT, 5pm IST)

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links