Live Scores Upcoming Results
23-Oct-2018 17:14:00 GMT
Ban v Zim - 2nd ODI, Chittagong

Bangladesh seek series win against Zimbabwe

Chittagong: The Tigers drew first blood as they beat Zimbabwe by 28 runs in the opening fixture of the ODI series.

Bangladesh will now aim to clinch the series, when they take on the visitors in the second ODI at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Wednesday.

Both teams have faced each other on five occasions at this venue with Bangladesh emerging victorious all five times, which makes them favourites to win this clash.

The hosts went into this series on the back of an impressive Asia Cup outing and continued their run against the visitors with the same enthusiasm.

Despite playing without their frontline batsmen, they are still looking a better team than Zimbabwe and they will be coming into this match as the more confident side after going 1-0 up in the series.

Imrul Kayes blitzed 144 in the previous game at Dhaka and seems to be in good touch. In the absence of Tamim Iqbal, he holds the key in this lineup and will be expected to replicate the form he showed in the opening match.

Mehidy Hasan was the pick of the lot in the first ODI and picked up three crucial wickets in his quota of ten overs. His bowling partner Nazmul Islam bagged two wickets.

The visitors will be under immense pressure as they must ensure a win in this game in order to keep the series alive. The 28-run loss in the last game was their 11th consecutive defeat in the fifty-over format and despite the comeback of their frontline players, they have not yet been able to find a solution to their woes.

Sean Williams struck a well constructed fifty in the first ODI. Brendan Taylor meanwhile has a decent record at this ground having scored a hundred and a fifty in his previous outings.

Tendai Chatara and Kyle Jarvis will bear the responsibility to take early wickets and apply pressure on the hosts. The two shared seven wickets between them at Dhaka and it will be crucial for Zimbabwe for these two to replicate their performance.

Teams from:

Hamilton Masakadza (Capt.), Cephas Zhuwao, Brendan Taylor (wk), Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Donald Tiripano, Brandon Mavuta, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara, Solomon Mire, Elton Chigumbura, Richard Ngarava, John Nyumbu, Wellington Masakadza, Tarisai Musakanda

Bangladesh: Liton Das (wk), Imrul Kayes, Fazle Mahmud, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Mortaza (Capt.), Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Abu Hider Rony, Ariful Haque, Nazmul Hossain Shanto

Pitch and conditions
The weather is likely to be dry on Wednesday, and it is probably too early in the winter for dew to be a factor.

Stats and trivia
Bangladesh have won all five ODIs at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium against Zimbabwe.

Match facts
Wednesday, 24 October 2018
Start time: 14:30 local (08:30 GMT)

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links