Scores Upcoming Results
31-Jan-2019 06:16:00 GMT
Aus v SL - 2nd Test, Canberra

Unchanged Australia Seek to Clean-sweep over Sri Lanka

Canberra: Australia finally have the chance to bring some cheers to their fans after an egregious 2018 when Tim Paine's men take on Sri Lanka at the Manuka Oval from Friday with a series victory beckoning the beleaguered hosts.

The 4-0 Ashes triumph in 2017-18 appears like a far off past for an Australian side who have since been beaten away by South Africa and Pakistan and lost their first historically speaking home arrangement to India prior this month.

The wild excursion to South Africa not just brought about a 3-1 drubbing for Australia, yet they additionally lost their two best batsmen in commander Steve Smith and his agent David Warner because of a ball-altering outrage.

Australia beat Sri Lanka by an innings and 40 keeps running in Brisbane for just their second test triumph of the late spring and the hosts are resolved not to take their foot off the pedal in the second and last test.

Sri Lanka have lost all-rounder Angelo Mathews and paceman Nuwan Pradeep through wounds even before the principal test and their offer to level the arrangement has been shocked with quick bowlers Lahiru Kumara and Dushmantha Chameera likewise going along with them in the sidelines.

Sri Lanka have call up 22-year-old paceman Chamika Karunaratne however their pace assault has just been ransacked of quite a bit of its capability.

The sightseers likewise gone head to head field issues in front of the second test after mentor Chandika Hathurusingha was dropped from the choice board while batting mentor Jon Lewis has left for home to go to a family matter.

Lyon said the hosts were content with their arrangement as they head into the conflict at Manuka Oval, which is making its presentation as a test setting.


Australia (XI):
Marcus Harris, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Kurtis Patterson, Tim Paine(w/c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Lyon

Sri Lanka (from): Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal(c), Kusal Mendis, Roshen Silva, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Kusal Perera, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne

Pitch and conditions
The forecast is for a fine start to the match with it warming up over the weekend before a chance of some thunderstorms later in the game.

Match facts
1-5 February 2019
Start time: 10:30 local (23:30 GMT -1d)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links