Live Scores Upcoming Results
10-Apr-2019 11:34:00 GMT
England news

Kohli named among Wisden Cricketers of the Year

Image Courtesy -
Image Courtesy -

London: Virat Kohli was Wednesday named as one of Wisden's Five Cricketers of the Year and also became the first player to win the award for leading cricketer in the world in three successive years.

The India captain put to bed questions over his ability to thrive in English conditions last year, topping the Test run charts with 593 runs and two centuries even though his side lost the series 4-1.

Kohli, who is top of the Test and one-day international rankings, scored 2,735 runs in all formats in 2018, outstripping nearest rival, England's Joe Root, by more than 700 runs.

The other cricketers of the year were England's Sam Curran, Jos Buttler and Rory Burns, plus prolific England women's player Tammy Beaumont.

Players can only receive Wisden's cricketer of the year award, given primarily for feats achieved during the preceding English domestic season, once in their career.

Kohli was also named as the leading men's player in the world for a third straight year.

Kohli's fellow Indian, Smriti Mandhana, is the Leading Cricketer in the women's game, after racking up 1291 runs across limited-overs formats, including 13 half-centuries, while Rashid Khan, the Afghanistan legspinner, is the Leading Twenty20 Cricketer for the second year in a row.

The latest edition of Wisden Cricketers' Almanack, considered the "Bible" of the game, is published on April 10.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links