Scores Upcoming Results
09-May-2019 03:18:00 GMT
DC vs SRH - Eliminator, Visakhapatnam

Shaw, Pant help Delhi Capitals sink Sunrisers Hyderabad

Delhi Capitals 165 for 8 (Shaw 56, Pant 49, Rashid 2-15) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad 162 for 5 (Guptill 36, Pandey 30, Paul 3-32) by two wickets

Visakhapatnam: Blazing knocks by Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant helped Delhi Capitals knock Sunrisers Hyderabad out of the Indian Premier League on Wednesday and move one step from the final with a tense two-wicket victory.

Shaw hit a quickfire 56 while Pant smashed 49 off 21 balls as Delhi chased down their target of 163 in 19.5 overs to win the eliminator in Visakhapatnam.

The left-handed Pant fell in the penultimate over and there was drama in the final six balls with Amit Mishra given out for obstructing the field after running in front of the bowler's throw at the non-striker's end.

Number eight Keemo Paul, who took three wickets in the Hyderabad innings, hit the winning boundary to trigger wild celebrations in the Delhi camp.

Delhi, who notched their first ever IPL playoff victory, will take on defending champions Chennai Super Kings in the second qualifier on Friday.

The 19-year-old Shaw, often compared to the legendary Sachin Tendulkar, led his team's batting charge with six fours and two sixes in his 38-ball stay.

Shaw fell to paceman Khaleel Ahmed who struck twice in the 11th over of the innings including the wicket of Delhi skipper Shreyas Iyer for eight.

Afghan star Rashid Khan also hurt Delhi's chase with his twin strikes in one over, sending back Colin Munro for 14 and Axar Patel for nought. Delhi slipped to 111-5.

Pant, who was not picked in the preliminary 15-man Indian World Cup squad, then took the Hyderabad bowling apart with his power hitting to put the chase back on track.

Earlier, a collective batting effort had helped Hyderabad post a fighting 162/8. Delhi bowlers did a good job to restrict their opponents at a modest total, thanks to Paul and Ishant Sharma, who bagged three and two wickets, respectively.

Put into bat, last year's runners-up Hyderabad were off to a decent start as their scorecard read 31 for no loss in the first three overs with opener Martin Guptill (36 off 19) hammering Trent Boult for 15 runs in the third over.

However, Ishant drew the first blood in the next over, dismissing opener Wriddhiman Saha (8) who holed out to Iyer at mid-off.

Manish Pandey (30 off 36) then added 25 runs with Guptil to take their side past the 50-run mark. However, the partnership didn't last long as leggie Mishra struck to send back a dangerous looking Guptill in the seventh over.

Hyderabad skipper Kane Williamson and Pandey then tried to anchor the innings but their slow stand saw their side placed at 71/2 after 10 overs. The duo added 34 runs before Paul came up with a breakthrough, accounting for Pandey.

Ishant then castled Williamson, leaving Hyderabad struggling at 111/4 in 15.5 overs. Vijay Shankar and Mohammad Nabi then chipped in with valuable knocks of 25 and 20, respectively, to take Hyderabad to 147 runs before the former fell in the 19th over. Nabi and Shankar hit some lusty blows towards the end to help Hyderabad post a fighting total.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links