Scores Upcoming Results
21-Aug-2019 04:31:00 GMT
Afghanistan news

Rashid to lead new-look Afghanistan in Bangladesh Test

Dubai: Rashid Khan will lead Afghanistan in a Test series against Bangladesh. The test match between the two teams will take place from 5-9 September.

The Afghanistan Cricket Board had announced that Rashid Khan will be captain soon after their World Cup exit.

Gulbadin Naib was sacked from captaincy following his win less show during the ICC 2019 World Cup.

The series against Afghanistan will have one test match which will be held in Chattogram previously known as Chittagong. This will be Afghanistan's third test match ever. They have previously played against India and Ireland.

Afghanistan had registered their first win against Ireland back in March 2019 at their earlier home ground which was Dehradun.

Rashid Khan will be hoping to start the tour with a win against a well balanced Bangladesh side.

With experienced players like Asghar Afghan in the team, Rashid Khan will be hoping to bank on their experience when he takes the field against Bangladesh.

The leg spinner's record against Bangladesh is decent in ODI cricket. He has played five ODI matches against them and has scalped 10 wickets with an economy rate of 3.76 and a strike rate of 35.40.

The pitch in Bangladesh could assist the spinners which could play to Afghanistan's advantage as the team has quality spinners in their squad.

Shapoor Zadran has been included in the squad and he could make his Test debut against Bangladesh as well.

Afghanistan Test squad
Rashid Khan (C), Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ihsanullah, Ikram Ali Khil, Javed Ahmadi, Mohammad Nabi, Rahmat Shah, Yamin Ahmedzai, Shapoor Zadran, Ibrahim Zadran, Zahir Khan Pakteen, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Afsar Zazai, Qais Ahmed

Afghanistan squad for the T20I tri-series
Rashid Khan (C), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Zazai, Najeeb Tarakai, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najib Zadran, Shahidullah Kamal, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Fareed Ahmad, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Fazal Niazai, Dawlat Zadran, Naveen-ul-Haq, Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links