Scores Upcoming Results
14-Nov-2019 04:26:00 GMT
Pakistan in Australia 2019-20

Burns, Head and Bancroft named in Australia squad

Melbourne: Usman Khawaja and Peter Siddle have been dropped from Australia's Test squad for the upcoming two-match series against Pakistan, as national selectors announced the 14-member team on Thursday.

Cameron Bancroft has been recalled back into the side and he is a part of three specialist openers in the 14-man squad.

David Warner and Joe Burns are the other two opening batters.

Marcus Harris has also been dropped from the team.

Australia squad for Test Series v Pakistan
Tim Paine (Capt. & wk), David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Steven Smith, Travis Head (vc), Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Burns, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc

Earlier in the day, Will Pucovski had pulled out of Australia's Test contention, citing mental health problems.

The selectors have also named a line-up of five fast bowlers for the series against Pakistan.

Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazelwood and James Pattinson have retained their place from the Ashes and they all have been joined by uncapped seamer Michael Neser.

Australia and Pakistan are slated to play two Tests against each other and the second match of the series would be a day-night Test at Adelaide.

The first match of the series will be played in Brisbane from November 21-25.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links