Scores Upcoming Results
13-Jan-2020 03:23:00 GMT
India in New Zealand 2020

Rohit, Shami return for New Zealand T20Is

Mumbai: India on Sunday, announced their squad for the T20I series against New Zealand starting from January 24, 2020. This will be a five-match series as both the team’s gear up for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Indian vice-captain Rohit Sharma returns to the team after being rested for the T20I series against Sri Lanka which India comfortably won 2-0.

This will be the first meeting between the teams since the thrilling semi-final clash during the 2019 Cricket World Cup. Virat Kohli will once again lead the Indian team for this tour

With the return of Rohit Sharma, Sanju Samson has been dropped from the squad as he recently played in the 3rd T20I against Sri Lanka.

Hardik Pandya has not played for India since September 2019 and his comeback is delayed after he failed the fitness test ahead of India A’s departure for New Zealand. And due to the all-rounder’s absence, Shivam Dube has retained his spot in the team.

Jasprit Bumrah, who recently returned from injury and became India’s highest wicket-taker in the shortest format has also been included in the squad announced on Sunday.

Shardul Thakur and Navdeep Saini have retained their places in the team after brilliant performances against Sri Lanka.

India’s former World Cup winning captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni is also not included in the squad as he is currently on an undefined hiatus from the national team.

The series gets underway on January 24, 2020 and after the conclusion of the T20I games Indian and New Zealand will lock horns in a three-match ODI and two-match Test series.

India’s T20I Squad For New Zealand Tour:
Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, S Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, W Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links