Scores Upcoming Results
12-May-2021 11:56:00 GMT
Sri Lanka in Bangladesh 2021

Kusal Perera Named New ODI Captain for Sri Lanka

Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has named Kusal Perera the new Sri Lankan captain for the upcoming ODI series against Bangladesh and has recalled Kusal Mendis and made him Perera’s deputy.

However in a surprising move, senior players like Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews, and Dinesh Chandimal.

This decision comes in line with what was reported earlier that the Sri Lankan board was looking in a new direction keeping the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 in India in mind.

Sri Lanka’s new selection committee – headed by Pramodya Wickramasinghe – and coach Mickey Arthur have signaled they are seeking to aggressively develop a fresh set of limited-overs players by choosing a younger lot.

Kusal Perera has been seemingly rewarded with the Sri Lankan captaincy as he has achieved a good level of consistency in his batting. He averaged 43.06 with a strike rate of almost 100 in 2019. He becomes the 9th ODI captain of the Sri Lankan team in the last five years with others being- Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera, Upul Tharanga, Lahiru Thirimanne, and Chamara Kapugedara.

Sri Lanka squad for three ODIs against Bangladesh:
Kusal Perera (Capt. & wk), Kusal Mendis (VC), Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links