Scores Upcoming Results
09-Sep-2021 15:52:00 GMT
2021 ICC T20I World Cup

Mills returns as England squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

London: Tymal Mills was among the 15-strong squad England announced on Thursday, 9 September for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021.

Mills last played a T20I in 2018, as part of a World XI that took on West Indies at Lord's, and his latest appearance for England goes further back, to February 2017 in a T20I against India in Bengaluru.

Chris Silverwood, the England men's head coach, said Mills' performances in the T20 Blast and The Hundred this season had cemented his position in the side.

"Tymal Mills deserves his inclusion and has demonstrated over the past couple of years, but particularly this summer that he has all skills to succeed at this level," said Silverwood.

England Squad for T20 WC 2021:
Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince

Mills' pace will help England offset the loss of Jofra Archer, who has been sidelined for the rest of the year with an elbow injury.

The big miss for England is Ben Stokes, the all-rounder, who will continue his indefinite break from cricket and prioritise his mental wellbeing. Chris Woakes takes his place in the squad, having made his return to T20I cricket after a gap of more than five years earlier this summer.

Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali will look to make the most of spin-friendly conditions in the UAE, with the all-rounder Liam Livingstone providing support. Chris Jordan and Mark Wood will be joined by left-armers Sam Curran and David Willey in a well-rounded attack.   

England, the runners-up of the 2016 men's T20 World Cup, will hope to go one better in the upcoming event. They will begin their campaign against defending champions West Indies on 23 October.

Apart from West Indies, they are placed in Group 1 with South Africa and Australia, with the two qualifiers from Round 1 set to join them.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links