Scores Upcoming Results
25-Jul-2022 02:59:00 GMT
New Zealand in West Indies 2022

Williamson returns to white-ball squad for West Indies Tour

Wellington: Kane Williamson will make his return to white-ball cricket to lead a 15-member squad on their first trip to West Indies in eight years.

Williamson will captain a squad with an experienced core, including Trent Boult and Tim Southee, combined with a group of newer players such as Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell, who receive further opportunities on the back of their strong recent form.

With a tight tour schedule featuring six matches in 11 days across Jamaica (three T20Is) and Barbados (three ODIs) the selectors have looked to balance a combined squad across both formats.

T20I and ODI Squad:
Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

The tour is also a vital part of the next cycle of ICC white ball tournaments, with the ICC T20 World Cup starting in Australia this October, and qualification points on the line for next year's ODI World Cup in India.

Stead will be supported on the tour by Dean Brownlie as batting coach and Graeme Aldridge as bowling coach.

The squad will arrive in two groups in Jamaica with some travelling from New Zealand and the balance from the Netherlands.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links