Scores Upcoming Results
14-Nov-2022 16:18:00 GMT
South Africa in Australia 2022-23

Gerald Coetzee gets maiden Test call-up for Australia tour

Johannesburg: Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday named the 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against Australia, which gets underway at the Gabba in Brisbane from December 17.

Pacer Gerald Coetzee has earned his maiden call-up to the South Africa red-ball setup after impressing for his domestic team.

The 22-year-old has garnered 40 wickets at an average of 28.82 and a career-best 4-47 in his 13 first-class matches thus far.

South Africa Test squad against Australia:
Dean Elgar, Temba Bavuma, Gerald Coetzee, Theunis de Bruyn, Sarel Erwee, Simon Harmer, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Glenton Stuurman, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne and Khaya Zondo.

There is also a recall for Theunis de Bruyn, who last featured for the national side in 2019.

The right-hander, who has 12 Test caps, has enjoyed success with the Momentum Multiply Titans in the CSA 4-Day Domestic Series with a first-class average of 41.83, including a title-winning 143 in the final round of matches last term.

Another key batter Rassie van der Dussen has recovered from the finger injury that cut short his tour to England earlier in the year and the subsequent ICC Men's T20 World Cup to take his place in the squad, while Keshav Maharaj is cleared for the tour.

The spinner sustained a low-grade groin muscle injury at the T20 World Cup in Australia and is currently undergoing treatment and rehabilitation.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links