Scores Upcoming Results
13-Jan-2023 03:08:00 GMT
New Zealand in India 2023

Santner to lead New Zealand in T20Is against India

Auckland: All-rounder Mitchell Santner is set to lead New Zealand during the three-match T20I series against India, which will start from January 27 onwards, announced New Zealand Cricket on Thursday.

Auckland Aces left-arm swing bowler Ben Lister is set for a potential international debut after being selected in the T20 Squad to tour India later this month.

The selection is Lister's first in the national squad and it comes after he made his New Zealand A debut late last year in India, and was named Auckland Cricket's 'Men's Bowler of the Year' last season.

The 27-year-old's tour to India with New Zealand A was cut short after he was struck down with pneumonia in Bangalore. The infection saw him spend time in the hospital before returning home to New Zealand to continue his recovery.

Mitchell Santner will lead the squad that features an experienced T20 core including nine players from last year's ICC T20 World Cup squad, along with a range of players newer to international cricket.

The squad also sees Otago Volts leg-spinning all-rounder Michael Rippon feature in a Kiwis squad for the first time since his debut against Scotland on last year's European Tour.

New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said that Mitchell Santner had impressed in his previous opportunities as captain of the T20 team.

New Zealand T20 Squad to tour India:
New Zealand T20I squad: Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links