Scores Upcoming Results
14-Mar-2023 03:15:00 GMT
Pakistan news

Pakistan rest big guns for Afghanistan T20Is

Dubai: All-rounder Shadab Khan will captain Pakistan for the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan, which is set to commence on 24 March.

Pakistan have rested key players and named a new-look side filled with fresh talent, with the onus on managing the workloads as well preparation for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Regular captain Babar Azam, opener Fakhar Zaman, the pacers Haris Rauf and Shaheen Afridi, as well as Mohammad Rizwan, the wicketkeeper-batter, have all been rested.

In addition, all of Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hasnain and Khushdil Shah failed to find a spot in the squad.

These players had formed the crux of Pakistan’s squad for the T20 World Cup in Australia.

In their place, four uncapped players – Ihsanullah, Saim Ayub, Tayyab Tahir and Zaman Khan – have been named in the 15-man squad.

Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf and Imad Wasim have also been recalled to the side.

Pakistan squad:
Shadab Khan (c), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Zaman Khan, Tayyab Tahir, Shan Masood, Saim Ayub

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links