Scores Upcoming Results
11-Sep-2023 02:18:00 GMT
2023 ICC World Cup

Neesham, Young in whhile Allen, Jamieson and Milne out

Auckland: In the pursuit to go one better than their Final appearance in 2019, New Zealand have named their 15-player group for this year's ICC Men's Cricket World Cup.

New Zealand confirmed the group at Papatoetoe High School in Auckland on Monday, the alma mater of leg-spinner Ish Sodhi, who was named in the squad.

The 30-year-old joins skipper Kane Williamson, who was confirmed as a squad member this week after making a quicker-than-expected recovery from a ruptured ACL at the 2023 IPL. Both Williamson and fast bowler Tim Southee have been named to appear at their fourth World Cup.

Following a strong run in form across the two white-ball formats, Mark Chapman has earned his spot, as well as 23-year-old spin-bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who claimed 3/48 against England in the first of four ODIs on Friday.

There was no room in the group for young top order batter Finn Allen, nor back-up wicket-keeper Tim Seifert, with the Black Caps opting for Tom Latham as the sole wicket-keeper in the squad. Adam Milne, who recently picked up a hamstring injury on New Zealand’s tour of England, has also missed out.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead admitted he faced some tough decisions when deciding on the final squad, but believes he has got the right mix of youth and experience to take to India.

New Zealand squad:
Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links