Scores Upcoming Results
01-May-2024 04:28:00 GMT
ICC T20 WC 2024

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh will captain for T20 WC

Veteran batter Steve Smith, young batting sensation Jake Fraser-McGurk, experienced seamer Jason Behrendorff and all-rounder Matt Short all missed out as 2021 T20 World Cup champions named their squad for the marquee short-format tournament in the West Indies and the USA from June 1 onwards.

Left-arm spinner Ashton Agar won a recall despite not having played a T20I since the last T20 World Cup on Australian soil in 2022, while all-rounders Marcus Stoinis and Cameron Green also earned a place in the final squad despite some indifferent form in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL), as per the ICC.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh will captain the side.

Selection chair George Bailey said he believed Australia has a well-balanced squad and is confident of a strong showing in the ninth edition of the T20 World Cup.

Australia squad:
Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, and Adam Zampa.

"This is an experienced squad with extensive World Cup experience that offers a variety of structures and covers the scenarios the panel believes will factor in the West Indies with the unique nature of the venues and our opponents," Bailey said, as quoted by the ICC.

Australia open their T20 World Cup campaign against Oman in Barbados on June 5, before Group B fixtures against England, Namibia and Scotland.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links