Scores Upcoming Results
05-Jun-2024 17:20:00 GMT
Ind vs Ire - 8th match, New York

Brilliant Fast Bowlers and Rohit Fifty Gave India a Big Win

India 97 for 2 (Rohit 52, Pant 36*) beat Ireland 96 (Delany 26, Pandya 3-27, Bumrah 2-6, Arshdeep 2-35) by eight wickets

India beat Ireland by 8 wickets in the 8th match of the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Wednesday.

India achieved the target of 97 runs by losing only 2 wickets in the 13th over.

Chasing the target of 97 runs, India captain Rohit Sharma tried to give a good start but on the other hand Virat Kohli dismiss by Mark Adair after scoring just 1 run, Benjamin White took the catch.

Rohit reached his half-century in 36 balls and then retired to allow Surya Kumar Yadav some batting pratice before big match against Pakistan on Sunday. The Indian captain made 52 off 37 balls, hitting four fours and three sixes.

But Suryakumar out by Ben White after scoring only 2 runs, Dockrell took a brilliant catch at mid-on.

Rishabh Pant remained unbeaten after scoring 36 runs in 26 balls, during this he hit three fours and 2 sixes.

On the other hand, Shivam Dubey remained not out without opening the account.

India's next match will be played on Sunday 9 June with its arch rival Pakistan on the same ground, while Irish time will play its next match on 7 June against Canada.

Earlier, the Indian bowlers proved Rohit Sharma's decision of bowling first after winning the toss right and bowled out the Ireland team for 96 runs in 16 overs.

First of all, Arshdeep Singh got captain Paul Stirling caught by Rishabh Pant on a personal score of 2, at that time Ireland's score was 7 runs, Arshdeep gave India another success by bowling out the second opener Andy Balbirnie on the last ball of the same over.

Irish wicketkeeper-batter Lorcan Tucker (10 runs from 13 balls, 2 fours) was removed by Hardik Pandya in the 7th over. After the third dismissal of the game, wickets kept on falling and by the 12th over Ireland lost five batters.

In the first six overs, Ireland could score only 26 runs. While India picked up two wickets in the first powerplay.

Gareth Delany (26 runs from 14 balls, 2 fours and 2 sixes) was the only standout batter for the Irish side as he was the highest run-getter among his teammates after he stood still infront of the Indian bowling attack.

Joshua Little (14 runs from 13 balls, 2 fours) and Curtis Campher (12 runs from 8 balls, one four and one six) were the other two batters who tried their best to add a few runs on the scoreboard.

Ireland crossed the 50-run mark in the first ball of the 12th, and that too came with a lot of effort as the batters struggled in front of the Indian bowlers.

The last wicket came in the last ball of the 16th over when Gareth Delany was run out by Mohammed Siraj and Rishabh Pant.

For India, Hardik Pandya bagged three wickets in his three-over spell.

While Arshdeep Singh and Jasprit Bumrah picked up two wickets each in their respective spells.

Mohammed Siraj and Axar Patel also took one wicket each in their respective spells. Only Ravindra Jadeja failed to get a wicket after bowling in just one over.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links