Scores Upcoming Results
24-Jun-2010 17:07:00 GMT
Sri Lanka v India, Asia Cup final, Dambulla

All-round Shows India Lifts Asia Cup 2010

Dambulla: Seamers Ashish Nehra (4/40) and Zaheer Khan (2/36) rose to the occasion as they helped India beat Sri Lanka by 81 runs to clinch the Asia Cup title after 15 years at Rangiri Dambulla Stadium in Dambulla on Thursday.

India have broken their Asia Cup jinx as their last triumph was in Sharjah in 1995.

Earlier, Dinesh Karthik top-scored with 66 as India made 268-6 after opting to bat first against hosts Sri Lanka.

Karthik, who replaced the injured Virender Sehwag, hit nine boundaries to lead India's batting in the day-night match at the Rangiri stadium in Dambulla.

Karthik put on 62 for the second wicket with Virat Kohli (28) and 46 for the third with skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (38).

Rohit Sharma propped up with the middle-order with a fluent 41, before Ravindra Jadeja boosted the score with an unbeaten 25.

Sri Lanka are seeking a hat-trick of titles, having won the last two editions in 2004 and 2008. The tournament was not held in 2006.

Thilina Kandamby, who had failed to take a wicket with his leg-spin in 32 previous one-dayers, stunned India's top order with the dismissals of Karthik and Dhoni.

Karthik pulled a full-toss to deep square-leg, while Dhoni cut a short ball uppishly to point.

Sling-arm fast bowler Lasith Malinga finished with 2-57, while Nuwan Kulasekara claimed 1-44.

Brief score
268 for 6 (Karthik 66)
Sri Lanka 187 (Kapugedera 55*, Nehra 4-40)
Result India won by 81 runs
MOM Dinesh Karthik (India)
Man of the series Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links