Scores Upcoming Results
24-May-2009 23:37:00 GMT
Indian Premier League, 2009

Deccan Chargers Winners of the DLF IPL 2009

Johannesburg: Spirited bowling performance helped Deccan Chargers defeat Bangalore Royal Challengers by 6 runs in the second IPL final at New Wanderers Stadium.

RP Singh bowled a good last over. He still keeps the purple cap. Gilchrist leads Deccan on a lap of victory. Kumble bowled superbly, taking four wickets, and Deccan were kept to 143. It looked an achievable target but Bangalore's batsmen fell to a mixture of good bowling and reckless shots. Dravid, Roelof and Taylor all fell to loose shots.

This wasn't an easy track to bat on. In the end you can look back and see Gibbs innings in perspective. It wasn't pretty, it wasn't massive, he made a few strange calls in the last over but he hung on and helped Deccan to 143. Bangalore just failed to chase it.

Early wickets put pressure on the middle order. You have to say Symonds double blow - the second down to excellent work from Gilchrist - and Harmeet's wickets and outstanding catch were key moments. Champion moments and the champions of IPL 2009 stand deserving winners.

Earlier, Bangalore captain Anil Kumble took 4 wickets as Deccan scored 143 for six in 20 overs.

Electing to bowl after winning the toss, Kumble dismissed Deccan captain Adam Gilchrist in the first over for a duck. Gilchrist charged down the pitch, tried to play across the line, missed the wrong that pegged back the leg stump.

Deccan Chargers skipper Adam Gilchrist was declared the Gloden Palyer of 2009 IPL while his teammate RP Singh walked away with Purple Cap for taking maximum number of wickets in the tournament. Matthew Hayden of Chennai Super Kings grabbed the Orange Cap for becoming the leading run-scorer of this year's tournament.

Brief Score: Deccan Chargers 143/6 (Gibbs 53*, Kumble 4-16) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore 137/9 (RE van der Merwe 32, PP Ojha 3-28) by 6-runs.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links