Scores Upcoming Results
03-Sep-2009 15:02:00 GMT
ICC Awards 2009

Dhoni and Gambhir in Running to Match Dravid's Feat

Mumbai: Former captain Rahul Dravid is the lone Indian player to have thus far won the ICC Cricketer of the Year award and three of his compatriots are in the running to emulate him this year.

Dravid's splendid display with the bat fetched him the Cricketer and Test Player of the Year honours in 2004 - the inaugural year of the International Cricket Council's annual awards.

None from India was able to match the middle order stalwart's feat between 2005 and 2008.

This year captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, opener Gautam Gambhir and off spinner Harbhajan Singh have been named in the long list of nominees for various awards.

Dhoni, Gambhir and Harbhajan are also in the running to get the Test Player of the Year award along with wristy batsman VVS Laxman, besides 15 others.

Dhoni has also been named in the list of nominees for the ODI Player of the Year award along with compatriots Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag.

Leg spinner Amit Mishra has got the chance to become the Emerging Player of the Year four years after out-of-favour left-arm pacer Irfan Pathan won it.

Australian Simon Taufel is in the running to make it six-in-a-row as the top umpire of the year at the awards ceremony in Johannesburg, South Africa, on October 1.

The following are the past award winners:

Cricketer of the Year: Rahul Dravid (Ind) - 2004; Jaques Kallis (SA) and Andrew Flintoff (Eng) -2005; Ricky Ponting (Aus) - 2006; Ponting - 2007; Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI) - 2008.

Test Player of the Year: Dravid - 2004; Kallis - 2005; Ponting - 2006; Mohd Yusuf (Pak) - 2007; Dale Steyn (SA) - 2008.

ODI Player of the Year: Flintoff - 2004; Kevin Pietersen (Eng) - 2005; Michael Hussey (Aus) - 2006; Mathew Hayden (Aus) - 2007; M S Dhoni (Ind) - 2008.

Emerging Player of the Year: Irfan Pathan (Ind) - 2004; Pietersen - 2005; Ian Bell (Eng) - 2006; Shaun Tait (Aus) - 2007; Ajantha Mendis (SL) - 2008.

T20 Player of the Year: Yuvraj Singh - 2008.

Woman Cricketer of the Year: Karen Rolton (Aus) - 2006; Jhulan Goswami (Ind) - 2007; Charlotte Edwards (Eng) - 2008.

Umpire of the Year: Simon Taufel (Aus) - 2004 to 2008.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links