Scores Upcoming Results
19-Oct-2010 02:15:00 GMT
Bradman Hall of Fame

Gavaskar & Gilchrist in Bradman Hall Of Fame

Mumbai: Sunil Gavaskar and Adam Gilchrist will be recognised as Bradman Honourees at the annual Bradman Foundation's gala dinner to be held at the Sydney Cricket Ground on October 20. Gavaskar first non-Australian in Bradman Hall Of Fame.

Adam Gilchrist's award is significant as he is the first honouree to still be playing the game at some level. Gavaskar will be the first international Bradman Honouree. According to the citation, "Embodying the Bradman principles of courage, honour, humility, integrity and determination, Gavaskar had a profound impact on cricket in India and around the world. He is recognised as the most successful of all opening batsmen and is credited for teaching his teammates and their successors the virtue of unconditional professionalism."

Gilchrist and Gavaskar join the ranks of cricketing greats such as Sam Loxton, Norman O'Neill, Alan Davidson, and Arthur Morris. Dennis Lillee, one of last year's Honourees, will also be attending the dinner.

The 2010 gala dinner which is now recognised as the premier cricket event will feature Michael Slater and Ian Healy as masters of ceremony with Barry Humphries giving his unique view on cricket.

The event will also have special significance as it will be held only a few weeks before the world's only International Cricket Hall of Fame will open at Bradman Oval in Bowral.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links