Scores Upcoming Results
22-Jun-2009 20:18:00 GMT
ICC Twenty20 World Cup, 2009

ICC World Twenty20 Team

Dubai: Indian cricketers have failed to find a place in the World Twenty20 squad released by ICC in London on Monday. The squad consists of four Pakistan, three Sri Lanka, three South Africa and two West Indies players.

Member of defending champion Team India, who failed miserably in the T20 world championship, could not find a place in the ICC's World T20 XI. Whereas, Rumeli Dhar of Indian women's team has been named in the ICC World Women's T20 team.

Indian eves outperformed their male counterparts in the tournament by reaching the semi-final before losing to New Zealand by 52 runs.

Younus Khan, who bids adieu to the shortest version of the game, has been made the skipper of the team alongwith his Pakistan team-mates all-rounder Shahid Afridi, wicket-keeper batsman Kamran Akmal and paceman Umar Gul.

Sri Lanka's Tillakratne Dilshan, player of the tournament, named as an opener alongwith the West Indies Chris Gayle while South Africa Jacques Kallis and AB de Villiers included for the middle-order.

West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo, teenage South Africa paceman Wayne Parnell and Sri Lanka spinner Ajantha Mendis complete the line-up, with Sri Lanka's Lasith Malinga as the 12th man.

ICC's World Twenty20 squad (Men): Jacques Kallis (SA), AB de Villiers (SA), Shahid Afridi (Pak), Kamran Akmal (Pak), Chris Gayle (WI), Tilakratne Dilshan (SL), Mohammed Younus Khan (Pak, Skipper), Dwayne Bravo (WI), Wayne Parnell (SA), Umar Gul (Pak), Ajantha Mendis (SL), Lasith Malinga (SL)

ICC's World Twenty20 squad (Women): Shelley Nitschke (Aus), Charlotte Edwards (Eng), Claire Taylor (Eng), Aimee Watkins (NZ), Sarah Taylor (Eng), Suzi Bates (NZ), Lucy Doolan (NZ), Rumeli Dhar (Ind), Laura Marsh (Eng), Holly Colvin (Eng), Sian Ruck (NZ), Eshani Kaushalya (SL)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links