Scores Upcoming Results
21-Jun-2010 08:45:00 GMT
Bangladesh v Pakistan, 5th match, Asia Cup, Dambulla

Jahurul & Shafiq Make Debuts as Pakistan Elect to Bat

Dambulla: Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi won the toss and opted to bat against Bangladesh in the fifth ODI of Asia Cup at Rangiri Dambulla Stadium on Monday.

Shahid Afridi made it clear that Pakistan would rest senior players like Shoaib Akthar and Abdul Razzaq to allow the youngsters in the side to gain experience and confidence.

While Pakistan seek to blood their younger lot, Bangladesh will be looking to sort out their middle order batting woes against spin bowling.

Though the openers, Tamim Iqbal and Imrul Kayes have provided good starts, the middle order has performed miserably, falling time and again to spinners.

The Bangladesh middle order would have to turn the corner, else they will suffer their third successive defeat in the tournament against Pakistan, who are seething from their three-wicket loss to arch-rivals India.


Shahid Afridi (capt), Salman Butt, Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Asad Shafiq, Imran Farhat, Kamran Akmal, Mahammad Aamer, Mohammad Asif, Saaed Ajmal, Shahzaib Hassan, Shoaib Akthar, Shoaib Mallik, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin.

Bangladesh Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Jahurul Islam, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Mahmudullah, Mushrafe Mortaza, Naeem Islam, Abdur Razzak, Syed Rasel, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul islam, Suhrawadi Shuvo.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links