Live Scores Upcoming Results
19-Dec-2010 09:16:00 GMT
ICC World Cup, 2011

Kenya Preliminary Squad for World Cup 2011 Announced

Nairobi: Kenya have named eight uncapped players in their 30-man provisional squad for the 2011 World Cup - Duncan Allan, Runish Gudhka, Irfan Karim, Karan Kaul, Peter Kituku, Lucas Oluoch, Kennedy Owino and Vinit Shikotra.

The squad, which will be pruned to 15 by January 19, also features two of their most experienced players, Steve Tikolo and Thomas Odoyo, who first played for Kenya in the 1996 World Cup, also in the subcontinent.

Kenya have had a disappointing year in ODIs, winning three and losing eight. However, they've had some success of late, winning a three-match series against Afghanistan 2-1 in Nairobi, and sweeping UAE 4-0 in a limited-overs rubber, also at home.

A player strike, led by Tikolo among others, had rocked Kenya cricket earlier in the year and the former captain had walked out on the team and indicated he would not play international cricket again. But he made himself available for the 2011 World Cup and, at 39, remains a key member of the side.

Preliminary squad: Ragheb Aga, Duncan Allan, Runish Gudhka, Jimmy Kamande, Irfan Karim, Karan Kaul, Irfan Karim, Peter Kituku, Alfred Luseno, Tanmay Mishra, James Ngoche, Shem Ngoche, Alex Obanda, David Obuya, Collins Obuya, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Nelson Odhiambo, Thomas Odoyo, Lucas Oluoch, Peter Ongondo, Joseph Onyango, Lameck Onyango, Elijah Otieno, Morris Ouma, Kennedy Owino, Rakep Patel, Vinit Shikotra, Steve Tikolo, Hiren Varaiya, Seren Waters, Dominic Wesonga.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links