Live Scores Upcoming Results
24-Mar-2010 10:25:00 GMT
ICC Women World Cup, 2010

Kiwis Women Squad for ICC World Twenty20

Wellington: The New Zealand selectors have announced a 14-player squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in the West Indies starting in May 2010.

Aimee Watkins (Captain) - Central Hinds
Amy Satterthwaite (Vice captain) - Canterbury Magicians
Suzie Bates - Otago Sparks
Erin Bermingham - Canterbury Magicians
Kate Broadmore - Central Hinds
Nicola Browne - Northern Spirit
Sophie Devine - Wellington Blaze
Natalie Dodd - Northern Spirit
Lucy Doolan - Wellington Blaze
Maria Fahey - Canterbury Magicians
Sara McGlashan - Central Hinds
Liz Perry - Wellington Blaze
Rachel Priest - Central Hinds
Sian Ruck - Wellington Blaze

The core of the squad is from the White Ferns team that performed so well in the five Twenty20 wins over the Australia in the recent Rose Bowl series, with final selections made after the North/South series that was played last weekend at Lincoln.

All rounder Lucy Doolan returns after successful rehabilitation from knee surgery.

White Ferns coach Gary Stead said, "We have an exciting blend of youth and experience in this squad with plenty of versatility to cover the different options that are required in the variable West Indian conditions."

"With the exception of Wellington Blaze middle order batsmen Liz Perry, who was in excellent from during the North/South series, each member of the team has international experience.

"There are a number of power hitters in the team and that could be a key on the small Warner Park ground," he added.

Only one specialist wicketkeeper, Rachel Priest, has been included in the squad with cover provided by Maria Fahey and Lucy Doolan.

The White Ferns are in Group B alongside India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan with their first match against India on the May 6. All women's Twenty20 matches are based in St Kitts.

Preparations for the ICC World Twenty20 include a training camp at Lincoln on 10-11 April.

Live Scores Upcoming Results
Related links