Scores Upcoming Results
12-Dec-2009 10:34:00 GMT
Tri-series in Bangladesh, 2010

Mortaza Named in Preliminary Squad for Tri-series

Dhaka: Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza is set to make his return from injury after being named in a 26-member preliminary squad for next month's home tri-series featuring India and Sri Lanka. Mortaza, who picked up the injury in the West Indies, missed the home ODIs against Zimbabwe in October and November after failing to recover in time from a knee surgery. Shakib Al Hasan led the team in his absence.

Opening batsman Tamim Iqbal was also included, following fears that he may be ruled out due a fractured hand. He had injured his left hand while batting against Zimbabwe in an ODI in Chittagong on November 5 but continued playing despite medical advice not to.

The squad also featured players who severed ties with the unofficial Indian Cricket League (ICL) - batsman Aftab Ahmed, opener Shahriar Nafees and wicketkeeper Dhiman Ghosh. There are also new faces in fast bowler Shafiul Islam and Robiul Islam.

Preliminary squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Ashraful, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Tamim Iqbal, Syed Rasel, Junaid Siddique, Mehrab Hossain Jr, Raqibul Hasan, Mahmudullah, Enamul Haque Jr, Nazmul Hossain, Naeem Islam, Imrul Kayes, Mahbubul Alam, Rubel Hossain, Sahagir Hossain, Dolar Mahmud, Shafiul Islam, Robiul Islam, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Alok Kapali, Dhiman Ghosh.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links