Scores Upcoming Results
21-Sep-2010 02:27:00 GMT
ICC Awards

Sachin, Sehwag up for ICC Top Honours

New Delhi: Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag have been shortlisted for both Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year awards at the LG ICC annual Awards to be held on October 6 in Bengaluru.

South Africa's Hashim Amla is another player who also figures in both the categories of awards, along with the Indian cricketers, to be presented in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA).

While Dale Steyn of South Africa has been short-listed as the fourth player in the category of Test cricketer of the Year award, England's Graeme Swann is nominated for the Cricketer of the Year award.

The final list was decided on the basis of the votes casted by the independent 25-member academy.

Tendulkar is also in contention for the ODI Player of the Year. However, Indian captain MS Dhoni fails to bag nomination in any of the awards category.

The Twenty20 International Performance of the Year list has New Zealand's Brendon McCullum, Australia's Michael Hussey, Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene and South Africa's Ryan McLaren.

This year's ICC Awards also have nine individual prizes, including new LG People's Choice Award and also features selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year and an award to the side that has adhered most to the Spirit of Cricket.

Meanwhile, two of Australia's victorious World Twenty20 team members -- Shelley Nitschke and Ellyse Perry -- alongwith West Indies' Stafanie Taylor and England's Katherine Brunt have been shortlisted for Women's Cricketer of the Year award.

The Emerging Player of the Year nominees include Englishman Steven Finn, Angelo Mathews of Sri Lanka, Tim Paine of Australia and Pakistan's Umar Akmal.

The LG ICC Awards 2010 takes into account the performances of the players and officials during the period of August 24, 2009 to August 10, 2010.

The following is the list of short-listed players for LG ICC Awards 2010:

Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Graeme Swann (Eng), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind).

Test Player of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Virender Sehwag (Ind), Dale Steyn (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind).

ODI Player of the Year: Ryan Harris (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), AB de Villiers (SA), Shane Watson (Aus).

Emerging Player: Umar Akmal (Pak), Steven Finn (Eng), Angelo Mathews (SL), Tim Paine (Aus).

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned), Trent Johnson (Ire), Kevin O'Brien (Ire), Mohammed Shahzad (Afg).

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year:

Michael Hussey (Aus) for his 60 not out in 24 balls against Pakistan in the semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20 2010 in St Lucia on 14 May.

Mahela Jayawardena (SL) for his 100 in 64 balls against Zimbabwe in Guyana on 3 May and his 98 not out in 56 balls against West Indies in Bridgetown on 7 May 2010 both during the ICC World Twenty20 2010.

Ryan McLaren (SA) for taking 5-19 against the West Indies on 19 May in Antigua. Brendon McCullum (NZ) for his striking of 116 not out in 56 balls against Australia in Christchurch, New Zealand on 28 February.

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Katherine Brunt (Eng), Shelley Nitschke (Aus), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Stafanie Taylor (WI).

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar, Steve Davis, Tony Hill and Simon Taufel.

Spirit of Cricket: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links