Scores Upcoming Results
24-Aug-2010 02:30:00 GMT
ICC awards

Sachin Shortlisted for ICC Award

Dubai: Senior India batsman Sachin Tendulkar is one of the five cricketers who have been shortlisted for the first LG People's Choice Award to be given away during the ICC prize distribution function in Bengaluru on October 6.

The other four shortlisted players were Mike Hussey of Australia, Mahela Jayawardene of Sri Lanka, Andrew Strauss from England and South African AB de Villiers, an ICC release said on Monday.

The award category, which has been included for the first time this year, will be chosen by cricket fans around the world who now have a chance to vote for their favourite player until September 10, the release said.

The cricketers have been selected on the basis of some innovative parameters by a five-member ICC selection panel, chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Clive Lloyd.

The panel also includes former international players Angus Fraser of England, Matthew Hayden of Australia, Ravi Shastri of India and Zimbabwe's Duncan Fletcher.

These parameters include innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and also executing a plan to distinction.

"Our great sport owes a lot to its dedicated and passionate cricket fans around the world for their non-stop support and commitment. This LG People's Choice Award is a perfect tribute to those avid and dedicated fans," said ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.

"I urge all cricket lovers, irrespective of where they are living, to take active part in this online opportunity and make your vote count for your favourite cricketer," he added.

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its seventh year.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links