Scores Upcoming Results
15-Sep-2012 22:15:00 GMT
ICC Awards

Sangakkara is ICC Cricketer of the Year

Colombo: Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara walked away with three honours, including the Cricketer of the Year, in the ICC annual awards function on Saturday.

The Sri Lankan veteran was also named the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, besides winning the People's Choice Award.

During the performance period, he played 14 Tests and in 27 innings, he compiled 1,444 runs at an average of 60.16, including five centuries and five half-centuries. His highest score of 211 came against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi in October 2011, while he also scored 199 not out against the same side on home soil in Galle.

The independent voting academy of 32 highly credentialed cricket experts put Sangakkara first, ahead of an impressive group of players that had been short-listed, including Hashim Amla, Vernon Philander and Australia captain, Michael Clarke.

Sangakkara received the award from Test batting legend Brian Lara and was thrilled to be accepting the award in front of his home crowd.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links