Scores Upcoming Results
11-Sep-2010 06:53:00 GMT
Warriors v Wayamba, CLT20 2010, Port Elizabeth

Star Wayamba Take on Improving Warriors

Port Elizabeth: Local team Chevrolet Warriors will face off against Sri Lankan team, Wayamba Elevens in the second match of the Champions League T20. The Warriors are one of the two teams, along with the Highveld Lions who are from South Africa. Wayamba are the only representatives from Sri Lanka, and they pretty much cruised through to the CLT20 championship by staying unbeaten right throughout the Sri Lankan tournament.

The two sides have taken different routes to qualification. Wayamba are easily the most dominant T20 side in Sri Lanka, with a wealth of talent in Mahela Jayawardene, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Ajantha Mendis and Chanaka Welegedara.

After having bossed the league stages of the SLC Inter-provincial Twenty20, they thrashed Ruhuna by a whopping 95 runs in the final. Jayawardene alone scored 91, which was only 22 less than the opposition's total.

Wayamba are filled with local players and will depend heavily on the likes of Mahela Jayawardene and Mendis to deliver the goods, whereas the Warriors have like of Theron, Boucher and Ntini to look up to.

Wayamba have already played in CL T20 last year, but had a rather disappointing outing after being ousted in the group stages. They will be hoping to at least go one better than last time by going through from their group of five and then take it a game at a time.

Ajantha Mendis might not be the mystery he was in 2008, but he is still a terror for batsmen who haven't faced him before. Especially if those batsmen are not traditionally good against spin.

Warriors, on the other hand, were the last of the six franchises in South Africa to win any trophy, despite the occasional presence of big players like Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher, Ashwell Prince, Makhaya Ntini, Nicky Boje and Rusty Theron. When they did win one, though, there was no stopping them. Less than two months after they won their first 40-over title, they sealed the domestic 20-over crown too. Six months later, they are vying for the big one.

Mark Boucher struck a hurricane eight-ball 27 in the domestic final against the Lions at the same venue. Unlike Kallis, he has not been poached by their IPL side, Royal Challengers Bangalore, for this Champions League.

Team from

Warriors: Davey Jacobs (capt), Johan Botha, Mark Boucher (wk), Makhaya Ntini, Ashwell Prince, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Nicky Boje, Colin Ingram, Arno Jacobs, Justin Kreusch, Garnett Kruger, Lyall Meyer, JJ Smuts, Juan Theron, Craig Thyssen

Wayamba: Jehan Mubarak (capt), Sameera de Zoysa, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardene, Shalika Karunanayake, Jeevantha Kulatunga, Kaushal Lokuarachchi, Farveez Maharoof, Ajantha Mendis, Thissara Perera, Isuru Udana, Mahela Udawatte, Chanaka Welegedara, Damitha Hunukumbura, Kushal Janith Perera (wk)

Stats and trivia

  • Jeevantha Kalatunga's unbeaten 62-ball 104 against Kandurata is the highest individual Twenty20 score in Sri Lanka, and the fastest century in the country.
  • Nicky Boje has the joint-highest number of lbw dismissals, 13 in a career tally of 57, to his credit in all Twenty20 matches. Muttiah Muralitharan and Shahid Afridi, also on 13 lbws, have taken 83 and 88 Twenty20 wickets respectively

Match facts
Saturday, September 11, 2010
Start time 13:30 local (11:30 GMT)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links