Scores Upcoming Results
22-Mar-2012 07:52:00 GMT
Bangladesh v Pakistan, Asia Cup final, Mirpur

Unchanged Bangladesh Opt to Bowl in Asia Cup Final

Dhaka: Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and chose to bowl against Pakistan in the Asia Cup final at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.

Bangladesh are unchanged and Pakistan have brought in Sarfraz Ahmed for Wahab Riaz.

Since their arrival into the big league in 1999, a place in the Asia Cup final is the biggest moment for Bangladesh cricket. It was mayhem on the streets on Dhaka on Tuesday night when they beat Sri Lanka to set up the final clash against Pakistan, and the dust is yet to settle.

The biggest challenge for the Bangladesh players now is to gather their thoughts, put their heads down and get ready for another big fight against Pakistan.

Post their wins against India and Sri Lanka, the belief in the Bangladesh camp is unbelievable and the feeling is that they can beat just about anyone. Asking-rates of eight plus are not bothering the players anymore and that's the confidence that they want to take into the final.

Bangladesh, though, lost to Pakistan in the group stage when they started off well only to falter at the crunch.

The confidence in the Bangladesh camp comes from the fact that the team is not solely dependent on Shakib and Tamim Iqbal anymore.

Playing a final at home under such pressure is not an easy job for an inexperienced side and the canny Pakistanis are looking to tighten the screws. They, of course, were in for a shock on Sunday when Virat Kohli ran away with the game, but that's history now.

Pakistan have an excellent bowling line-up led by pacer Umar Gul and off-spinner Saeed Ajmal. And there's Mohammad Hafeez too, and skipper Misbah-ul-Haq is sure to unleash them against Bangladesh's two big left-handers, Shakib and Tamim.


Mushfiqur Rahim (captain & wk), Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Jahurul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Nazmul Hossain.

Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Hammad Azam, Shahid Afridi, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Aizaz Cheema.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links