Scores Upcoming Results
Explore information on England tour of South Africa played from 14 February to 4 April 1899.

Result: England won the 2-match series 2-0

England tour of South Africa 1899

Date & time Detail
Tue 14 - Thu 16
1st Test - South Africa vs England
Old Wanderers, Johannesburg
England won by 32 runs
Sat 01 - Tue 04
2nd Test - South Africa vs England
Newlands, Cape Town
England won by 210 runs

An English cricket team, organised and led by Lord Hawke, toured South Africa from December 1898 to April 1899. The team played two matches against the South Africa national cricket team which were retrospectively awarded Test status. England won the Test series by 2–0. The South African teams were captained by Murray Bisset.

Series Squad

South Africa squad (05-Feb-1899)

Murray Bisset (Captain/Wicket Keeper), William Shalders, Charles Prince, Albert Powell, Frederick Kuys, George Rowe, Bonnor Middleton, Robert Graham, Charlie Llewellyn, George Shepstone, William Solomon, Robert Dower, Howard Francis, Vincent Tancred, Jimmy Sinclair, Barberton Halliwell (Wicket Keeper)

England squad (02-Feb-1899)

Frank Mitchell, Schofield Haigh, Hugh Bromley-Davenport, Jack Board (Wicket Keeper), Lord Hawke (Captain), Albert Trott, Willis Cuttell, Clem Wilson, Johnny Tyldesley, Sir Pelham Warner, Frank Milligan, Alfred Archer

Note: Fixtures and start times are subject to change. The is not responsible for any changes that may be made. No responsibility is taken by for the accuracy of this information.
Scores Upcoming Results