Scores Upcoming Results
30-Apr-2024 11:30:00 GMT
2024 ICC T20 World Cup

Archer returns as England announces T20 WC squad

In a huge boost to the English attack, right-arm seamer Jofra Archer has been included in England's squad for the upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024, marking his return to international cricket after a lengthy absence due to injury.

Archer is one of cricket's most exciting bowlers whose career has been derailed by injuries.

The 29-year-old has barely featured for England in any format since 2021, mainly because of ongoing issues with his right elbow for which he has undergone two operations. A back injury ruled him out of most of 2022.

His last appearance for England dates back to May 2023, and since then, he has been on the road to recovery from an elbow injury that forced him out for nearly 12 months.

The path back hasn't been easy for Archer - since 2021, he has encountered multiple obstacles, including stress fractures, persistent elbow problems and even surgery due to a freak fish tank accident.

England squad:
Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow (wk), Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt (wk), Reece Topley, Mark Wood.

Before the mega event, the Three Lions will play a T20I series against Pakistan and the players will be leaving for that and will not be a part of the playoffs of the ongoing 17th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Despite his recent absence from the England line-up, experienced all-rounder Chris Jordan also secured his spot in the squad, his last international appearance dating back to September 2023.

Among the batters, Jos Buttler will lead the defending champions with Will Jacks, Phil Salt and Jonny Bairstow among the top-order contenders. Ben Duckett will lend some left-handed diversity to the squad along with veteran all-rounder Moeen Ali.

Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone and Sam Curran will provide the lower-order firepower to the team while Adil Rashid will lead the spin attack flanked by Tom Hartley.

The same squad has been selected for the four-match T20I series against Pakistan, which will commence on May 22 . All the players who are currently part of the Indian Premier League will return before the playoffs in time for the T20I series against Babar Azam's men.

All teams are allowed to make changes to their squad until May 25, after which any alteration will require approval from ICC's Event Technical Committee.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links