Scores Upcoming Results
30-Mar-2015 06:18:00 GMT
ICC World Cup 2015

No Indians in ICC World Cup XI

Melbourne: New Zealand may have been thrashed by Australia in the World Cup final but they dominate the International Cricket Council's team of the tournament released Monday with Brendon McCullum named captain.

The New Zealand skipper is one of five Black Caps in the side that also includes three Australians.

"McCullum was chosen as the captain following his aggressive, innovative and inspirational leadership during the 44-day tournament that was the cornerstone of his team's progression to the final," the ICC said in a statement.

He scored 328 runs in nine matches with four half-centuries at a strike-rate of 188.50.

The other New Zealanders in the line up are Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, and Daniel Vettori.

Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith and Mitchell Starc were selected from the world champion Australian side along with South Africans AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel, with Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara as wicketkeeper-batsman.

Brendan Taylor of Zimbabwe was named 12th man.

The selection panel said batsmen Mahmudullah (Bangladesh) and Shaiman Anwar (UAE), fast bowlers Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami from India, Pakistan's Wahab Riaz as well as South African spinner Imran Tahir and India's Ravi Ashwin were unlucky to miss selection.

ICC World Cup team:
Martin Guptill (New Zealand)
Brendon McCullum (New Zealand - captain)
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka - wicket-keeper)
Steven Smith (Australia)
AB de Villiers (South Africa)
Glenn Maxwell (Australia)
Corey Anderson (New Zealand)
Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)
Mitchell Starc (Australia)
Trent Boult (New Zealand)
Morne Morkel (South Africa)
Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe - 12th man)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links