Scores Upcoming Results
04-Jan-2019 06:00:00 GMT
Sri Lanka in New Zealand 2018-19

Santner returns to New Zealand T20I squad

Auckland: Tim Southee was named Friday to captain New Zealand in next week's one-off Twenty20 match against Sri Lanka.

Regular skipper Kane Williamson is to be rested along with Trent Boult and Colin de Grandhomme.

Southee, who has captained New Zealand twice before, admitted that leading a side in cricket's shortest form can be a bit of a gamble.

All-rounder Jimmy Neesham and opener Martin Guptill, who starred when New Zealand won the first one-day international on Thursday, are also in the Twenty20 squad.

Mitchell Santner has recovered from his knee surgery and has been included in the 13-member squad.

Uncapped Scott Kuggeleijn, who has featured in two ODIs so far, also finds a place in the side after five wickets in three T20 games in the Super Smash.

New Zealand Twenty20 squad:
Tim Southee (c), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips (wk), Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links