Scores Upcoming Results
10-Jan-2019 09:20:00 GMT
NZ v SL - only T20I, Auckland

Perky New Zealand hope to keep up winning run

Auckland: Having won the Test series and swept the one-day internationals 3-0, New Zealand will look to finish a high by winning the one-off Twenty20 International against Sri Lanka as well.

New Zealand indented up three sequential scores more than 300 in the ODI arrangement, covering Sri Lanka under a heap of runs they couldn't recuperate from, regardless of a courageous exertion from Thisara Perera.

Presently into the most limited arrangement of the amusement, the variety of intensity hitters on either side can make it another high-scoring issue.

Be that as it may, the hosts should manage the damage of Jimmy Neesham, one of the stars of the ODI arrangement, and also the nonattendance of Kane Williamson, their ordinary chief, who has been refreshed.

However, despite everything they have any semblance of Martin Guptill, Colin Munro and Ross Taylor – every one of whom were among the keeps running in the ODIs – and in addition Tim Southee, the remain in commander, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi as prepared T20 players.

The incorporation of Scott Kuggeleijn, the 27-year-old batting all-rounder who is up 'til now uncapped in the organization, implies that there could be somewhere around one debutant playing the match. Kuggeleijn has played two ODIs for New Zealand, both against Ireland in 2017.

Wicket-guardian batsman Tim Seifert, Seth Rance, Doug Bracewell, Glenn Phillips, Henry Nicholls and Lockie Ferguson finish the squad.

For Sri Lanka, Lasith Malinga's administration hasn't seen the outcomes however the veteran will search for a turnaround with this match. He has the assets to do as such with any semblance of Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva and Thisara Perera equipped for utilizing the long handle.

Seekkuge Prasanna and Lakshan Sandakan give the guests turn playing alternatives to browse and Nuwaan Pradeep, Dushmanth Chameera and Lahiru Kumara will help Malinga in the quick knocking down some pins office.

Both the Pereras and additionally Danushka Gunathilaka were among the keeps running in the ODI arrangement and Sri Lanka will bet on them to pull out all the stops in the 20-over issue and expectation whatever remains of the line-up bats around them.


Teams from

New Zealand:
Tim Southee (Capt.), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Doug Bracewell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips (wk), Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (Capt.), Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Sadeera Samarawickrama

Pitch and conditions
The weather is expected to be good for the duration of the match, with temperatures in the low 20 degrees range.

Stats and trivia

  • Thisara Perera has hit three fifties in his last four T20 innings, all of them batting from No. 6 or 7.
  • New Zealand have won both T20s they have played against Sri Lanka in Auckland.

Match facts
Friday Jan. 11, 2019
Start time: 1000 local (0800 GMT)


Scores Upcoming Results
Related links