Scores Upcoming Results
12-Sep-2019 12:18:00 GMT
South Africa in India 2019

Shubman Gill earns maiden call-up for South Africa Test, Rahul dropped

New Delhi: The All-India Senior Selection Committee on Thursday announced India squad for the upcoming Test series against South Africa.

KL Rahul, who struggled during the West Indies Test series, failed to find a spot in the squad while Shubman Gill has been named in it.

The chief selector, MSK Prasad, said that they want to give Rohit Sharma an opportunity to open the innings in Tests.

"Want to give Rohit Sharma an opportunity to open the innings in Tests - MSK Prasad," Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) tweeted.

India will play three-match Test series against South Africa, starting from October 2.

The committee also named the Board President's XI team for a three-day warm-up game to be played in Vizianagaram beginning September 26.

Rohit will also lead the Board President's XI in the three-day warm-up game that includes Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Karun Nair and Siddhesh Lad as well.

Umesh Yadav, dropped from the Test squad, will be part of the warm-up clash. Avesh Khan, Ishan Porel and Shardul Thakur are the other pacers picked for the match to be played in Vizianagaram from September 26.

India's Test squad:
Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill.
Board President's XI:
Rohit Sharma (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, AR Easwaran, Karun Nair, Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Jalaj Saxena, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Avesh Khan, Ishan Porel, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links