Scores Upcoming Results
24-Sep-2019 05:31:00 GMT
England in New Zealand 2019-20

Bairstow Left Out of Test Squad for New Zealand Series

London: England Cricket Board (ECB) on Monday announced their 15-man T20I and Test squad for the New Zealand tour, starting from November 1.

England is scheduled to play a five-match T20I and two-match Test series against the Kiwis.

Eoin Morgan will lead the team in the shortest format of the game while Joe Root will lead during the Test series.

The Test series, commencing from November 21, will not be a part of the ICC World Test Championship.

Warwickshire opener Dominic Sibley is rewarded for his prolific summer with a place on the plane alongside Kent batsman Zak Crawley and Lancashire pair Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson.

Batsman Jason Roy, who starred in England's World Cup triumph, is another name missing from the 15-strong Test squad after a difficult Ashes series.

Surrey batsman Ollie Pope, who played two Tests against India in 2018, is back in the squad while Jos Buttler will be the wicketkeeper in New Zealand due to Bairstow's absence.

Bairstow scored just 214 runs in the five Ashes Tests during the English summer at an average of 23.77.

England Squad for New Zealand Tour

T20I squad:
Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, James Vince.
Test squad:
Joe Root (captain), Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jack Leach, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Ollie Pope, Dominic Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links