Scores Upcoming Results
02-Sep-2023 04:57:00 GMT
New Zealand in Bangladesh 2023

New Zealand pick new ODI captain for series against Bangladesh

Auckland: New Zealand have announced their 15-player squad for the upcoming three-match ODI Series against Bangladesh.

Lockie Ferguson is set to captain the Blackcaps for the first time in his career after leading the team recently in tour matches in England.

The seamer will pick up the leadership responsibilities in the absence of regular ODI captain Kane Williamson who continues to recover from knee surgery. Vice-captain Tom Latham will also miss the series to have time at home before the ICC Cricket World Cup and Test tour to Bangladesh.

New Zealand could also see an ODI debut for Dean Foxcroft who has earned his maiden selection following his T20I debut last month against UAE.

With one eye on the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, and allowing some players a short break, the Blackcaps have decided to leave out Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner and Tim Southee from the squad.

Both Mark Chapman and Jimmy Neesham won't be available for the series due to the tour coinciding with the imminent arrival of their first children, respectively.

New Zealand's ODI Squad for Bangladesh
Lockie Ferguson (c), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Chad Bowes, Dane Cleaver, Dean Foxcroft, Kyle Jamieson, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links