Scores Upcoming Results
22-Sep-2023 16:40:00 GMT
Ind vs Aus - 1st ODI, Mohali

Shami five-for Helps India beat Australia takes 1-0 lead

India 281 for 5 (Gill 74, Gaikwad 71, Zampa 2-57) beat Australia 276 (Warner 52, Inglis 45, Shami 5-51) by five wickets

Chandigarh: A century partnership between openers Shubman Gill-Ruturaj Gaikwad, a breakthrough half-century by Suryakumar Yadav and Mohammed Shami's five-wicket haul were the highlights of the day as India clinched a five-wicket win over Australia in the first ODI at Mohali on Friday.

India takes a 1-0 lead with this win in the three-match series.

In the chase of 277, Indian openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill got India off to an incredible start. The duo played some really elegant strokes right from the first over.

Gaikwad-Gill brought up their fifty-run partnership in just 52 balls.

Gill continued his red-hot run in ODIs, bringing up his ninth ODI fifty in 37 balls, consisting of five fours and two sixes.

Gaikwad also brought up his maiden ODI fifty in 60 balls, consisting of seven fours.

Spinner Adam Zampa ended the pair's partnership at 142 runs, dismissing Gaikwad for 71 runs in 77 balls with 10 fours.

Shreyas Iyer was run out quickly by Cameron Green and Josh Inglis for just three runs of eight balls while Gill cleaned up Zampa for 74 off 63 balls, with five fours and two sixes. India was reduced to 151/3 in 25.3 overs.

KL Rahul, the skipper carried on the innings with an in-form Ishan Kishan. But even Kishan was caught behind by Inglis for 18 off 26 balls on a delivery by Pat Cummins. India was 185/4 in 32.3 overs.

KL was joined by Suryakumar Yadav, the explosive T20I batter aiming to roar back to form in ODIs.

Suryakumar reached his third ODI fifty in 47 balls, with five fours and a six.

Suryakumar's innings came to end as Sean Abbott picked up his wicket for a 49-ball 50, consisting of five fours and a six. India was 265/5 in 46.4 overs.

KL (58* in 63 balls with four boundaries and a six) finished off things in style as India won by five wickets with eight balls left.

Zampa (2/57) was the pick of the bowlers for Australia. Abbott and Cummins took a wicket each.

Earlier, Mohammed Shami’s five-wicket haul helped India to restrict Australia to 276.

For Australia, David Warner was the only batter to score a fifty while Josh Inglis played a second-best knock of 45.

Shami took five wickets by conceding 51 runs. Jasprit Bumrah, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja also got one wicket each.

Put to bat first, Australia lost their first wicket early as Mitchell Marsh caught in the first slip by Shubman Gill of Mohammed Shami’s bowling.

Making his return to the team after recovering from his injury, Steve Smith with David Warner brought 50 runs for the team in 12 overs.

Warner made 50 in 49 balls in the 16th over, however, he could not take his team to the 100-run mark as he got dismissed by Jadeja’s spin bowling. He scored 52 off 53 balls.

Quickly, Mohammed Shami cleared up Smith who was batting at 41 off 60 balls.

After getting a solid start, Marnus Labuschagne did not convert it to a longer inning as Ashwin bowled him in the 33rd over.

Shami took his third wicket dismissing Marcus Stoinis at 29 off 21 balls. In the next over, Jasprit Bumrah opened his account by clearing up Josh Inglis at 45 off 45 balls.

In the penultimate over, Shami dismissed Matthew Short with an off-cutter after Suryakumar Yadav caught him at over mid-wicket and after the next ball, Sean Abbott was cleared up with a slower ball to clinch a five-wicket haul.

India restricted Australia to 276 after bundling out the whole team on the last ball.

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links