Scores Upcoming Results
28-Oct-2009 16:44:00 GMT
Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe, 2nd ODI, Mirpur

Ban vs Zim 2nd ODI - Zimbabwe Set Sights on Encore

Mirpur: Bangladesh entered the series as clear favourites but were shocked by an improving Zimbabwe in the first one-dayer on Tuesday.

Bangladesh skipper, Shakib Al Hasan, remains confident his team is strong enough to pocket the series 4-1 and has demanded a better performance from his top order. A familiar early collapse cost Bangladesh; they crumbled to 62 for 6, a position from which it was almost impossible to salvage a victory.

Zimbabwe' strength is in the batting; the return of Tatenda Taibu after a lengthy absence lends solidity of the middle-order, which includes the talented pair of Charles Coventry and Brendan Taylor.

The major concern for Zimbabwe is the fitness of their captain, Prosper Utseya, who picked up an ankle injury in the first ODI. It is still unclear whether he will play on Thursday; Masakadza will take over the reins if Utseya doesn't recover in time.

Team News

Bangladesh: Rubel Hossain, charged with leading the pace attack in the absence of Mashrafe Mortaza, had a woeful first game, his comeback international match since a side strain ruled him out in August. Bangladesh could opt for the more experienced Shahadat Hossain in his place.

Squad (likely): Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Mohammad Ashraful, Raqibul Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Naeem Islam, Rubel Hossain/Shahadat Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Dolar Mahmud

Zimbabwe's line-up depends on whether captain Utseya can recover from injury in the break between the two games. If he doesn't, offspinner Malcolm Waller is one of the potential replacements.

Squad (likely): Hamilton Masakadza, Chamu Chibhabha, Brendan Taylor, Tatenda Taibu (wk), Charles Coventry, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Elton Chigumbura, Prosper Utseya (capt), Graeme Cremer, Ray Price, Kyle Jarvis.

Match facts
Thursday, October 29, 2009 (day/night)
Start time 14:30 local, 07:30 GMT

Head 2 Head

  Bangladesh Zimbabwe
Ranking 9 10
Captain Shakib Al Hasan Prosper Utseya
Coach Jamie Siddons Robin Brown
Highest Total chased
Bangladesh won by 4 wickets on Aug 15 2009
Target Chased: 312
Zimbabwe won by 3 wickets on Mar 24 1999
Target Chased: 257
Most Prolific Batsman
Habibul Bashar (752 Runs)
Elton Chigumbura (716 Runs)
Highest Individual Score
Tamim Iqbal (154 Runs)
Charles Coventry (194 Runs)
Best Bowling Analysis
5/33 by Abdur Razzak on Dec 04 2006
6/20 by Bryan Strang on Oct 13 1997
Most Prolific Bowler
Mashrafe Mortaza (43 Wickets)
Gary Brent (22 Wickets)
Head to head
Total Played 42, Bangladesh 21, Zimbabwe 21

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links