Scores Upcoming Results
07-Apr-2012 14:10:00 GMT
Bangalore Royal Challengers v Delhi Daredevils, IPL 2012, Bangalore

de Villiers, Murali Overcome Daredevils

Bangalore: A brilliant knock by AB de Villiers and disciplined show by the bowlers helped Royal Challengers Bangalore pull off a convincing 20 run win over Delhi Daredevils in the IPL clash at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday. Chasing 158, Daredevils were restricted to 137/7 as the last year runners-up begin their IPL campaign on a winning note.

The visitors got off to a poor start after de Villers's destructive show in death overs guided hosts to 157/8 in 20 overs. Zaheer Khan drew the first blood by sending back Delhi skipper Virender Sehwag in the very first over.

Though, Aaron Finch and Naman Ojha rescued the side with some fiery strokes, Muralitharan soon turned the tide in favour of RCB with his magical spin.

Andrew McDonald gave Daredevils the fifth blow by dismissing Venugopal Rao after off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan dented Delhi Daredevils run-chase with his triple-strike.

Murali first got Ojha caught by Virat Kohli and then trapped Finch leg before wickets before sending back Glenn Maxwell.

While Finch scored 25, Ojha played swashbuckling knock of 33 that took Daredevils past 50-mark in six overs after early dismissal of Virender Sehwag.

Earlier, Zaheer Khan struck in his first over to get Virender Sehwag caught by Cheteshwar Pujara, giving Delhi Daredevils first blow after AB de Villiers powered RCB to a challenging 157/8 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

de Villiers slammed an unbeaten 64 off just 42 deliveries, giving a tough fight to the visitors attack that rattled RCB's line up after a strong start.

Invited to bat, RCB scored over 30 runs in just three over before Morne Morkel dismissed Cheteshwar Pujara and Andrew McDonald in his consecutive overs. McDonadl scored 30 off just 19 deliveries, hitting two sixes and four boundaries.

Doug Bracewell and Glenn Maxwell then capitalized on the quick wickets by removing Virat Kohli and Saurabh Tiwary respectively to reduce hosts to 59/4.

In the 13 th over, Shahbaz Nadeem got Mayank Agarwal caught by Yogesh Nagar to give RCB fifth blow at the score of 85. Skipper Daniel Vettori too couldn't rescue his side and returned to pavilion after scoring just 3.

However, de Villiers stood tall against the ferocious Delhi attack and scored runs at brisk pace in death overs. His unbeaten knock included six boundaries and two dazzling sixes.

Earlier, Daredevils won the toss and elected to field.

Sehwag reckons that Chinnaswamy has a green top and the pitch will not change its course through the entire length of the match.

Sehwag looked confident after winning the first match against Kolkata Knight Riders on Thursday.

RCB skipper Daniel Vettori was not disappointed on losing the toss as he said he would have opted to bat had he won it.

However, there is disappointing news for RCB fans as dashing opener Chris Gayle will not be playing in the team's opener due to fitness problem.

Brief scores
Royal Challengers Bangalore
157 for 8 (de Villiers 64*, Bracewell 3-32)
Delhi Daredevils 137 for 7 (Murali 3-25)
Result Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 20 runs
MOM AB de Villiers (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
Points: Royal Challengers Bangalore 2, Delhi Daredevils 0

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links