Scores Upcoming Results
17-Jul-2012 12:12:00 GMT
Pakistan news

Pakistan Recall Razzaq, Kamran Akmal, Nazir for World Twenty20

Lahore: Deciding to bank on experience, Pakistan national selectors have recalled Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq and Imran Nazir for the upcoming Twenty20 series against Australia in UAE followed by the ICC World Cup in Sri Lanka.

Mohammad Hafeez has also been retained as the T20 captain till the end of the year in what came as a major boost for the allrounder.

Hafeez had replaced Misbah-ul-Haq as the national T20 captain in May before the Sri Lanka series and Pakistan managed to drew the series 1-1.

While recalling wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal for the Australia series and ICC T20 World Cup the selectors discarded young keeper, Shakil Ansar after just playing him in two T20 matches against Sri Lanka.

The return of Kamran was on the cards after he recently appeared before the integrity committee of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), which gave the nod to the selectors to consider him for the upcoming assignments.

Iqbal Qasim said Nazir, who last played for Pakistan in 2010, was rewarded for some consistent performances in domestic cricket and in foreign T20 leagues.

But Nazir has come in at the cost of another dashing young opener, Ahmed Shahzad who played against Sri Lanka.

Pakistan will play three one-dayers and three T20 matches against Australia from August 28 in the UAE before going to Sri Lanka for the ICC World Cup, which it won in 2009.

Pakistan T20 squad for Australia series and ICC World Cup:

  • Mohammad Hafeez (Capt)
  • Imran Nazir
  • Nasir Jamshed
  • Asad Shafiq
  • Umar Akmal
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Kamran Akmal (wk)
  • Shahid Afridi
  • Abdul Razzaq
  • Yasir Arafat
  • Sohail Tanvir
  • Umar Gul
  • Mohammad Sami
  • Raza Hasan
  • Saeed Ajmal

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links