Scores Upcoming Results
19-Apr-2012 14:19:00 GMT
Delhi Daredevils v Deccan Chargers, IPL 2012. Delhi

Pietersen Ton's Take Delhi Home

New Delhi: Kevin Pietersen displayed magnificent hitting with an unbeaten (103 off 64 balls) to guide Delhi Daredevils to a stunning five-wicket victory over Deccan Chargers.

Pietersen notched up 42 balls fifty, smashing six boundaries and two sixes to thwart Deccan Chargers.

Ross Taylor (13) was the fourth batsman to go as he got run-out by Shikhar Dhawan as Delhi were tottering at 65/40020in 9.4 overs.

Delhi got off to bad start as they lost openers Virender Sehwag and Naman Ojha in the first four overs. Sehwag was sent back to the pavilion for seven runs.

Mahela Jayawardene also failed to recover Delhi after the loss of openers, making 6 runs off 5 balls. Deccan Chargers' Veer Pratap Singh struck in the first over to give Delhi Daredevils first blow.

Naman Ojha's bad run continued in the tournament as he made a single before went back to the pavilion.

Earlier, Shahbaz Nadeem and Morne Morkel took three wickets apiece to help Delhi Daredevils restrict Deccan Chargers to 157/8.

Bharat Chipli remained unbeaten on 25 to take Deccan to the competitive total after suffering quick fall of wickets.

Shikhar Dhawan, Parthiv Patel laid the good foundation for Deccan as they have added quick-fire 71 runs for the second wicket after losing Kumar Sangakkara early. Dhawan and Patel both struck five boundaries and a six in their 44 and 45 runs knock and were sent back to pavilion by Nadeem.

Nadeem, who was adjudged man of the match in the clash against Mumbai, led Daredevils fightback as he dismissed Shikhar Dhawan, Parthiv Patel and JP Duminy in quick succession to dent Deccan's run charge.

Morne Morkel, purple cap holder at the moment, struck twice in the 18th over, removing Abhishek Jhunjhunwala and Dale Steyn to pile more misery on Deccan, restricting them to post huge total on the board.

Deccan Chargers bounced back after losing Sangakkara in the third over with powerful hitting by Parthiv Patel and Shikhar Dhawan. Patel and Dhawan reached their half century stand in 29 balls to lead Chargers innings in the 23rd match of the lucrative league.

Deccan Chargers suffered early blow when they lost skipper Kumar Sangakkara. Sangakkara contributed only a single after slamming a fifty against Rajasthan.

Morne Morkel struck in his over to give Delhi first breakthrough, removing Sangakkara, who opted to bat against Daredevils after winning the toss.

Brief scores
Deccan Chargers
157 for 8 (Pathiv 45*, Nadeem 3-16, Morkel 3-23)
Delhi Daredevils 162 for 5 (Pietersen 103*, Steyn 2-19)
Result Delhi Daredevils beat Deccan Chargers by five wickets
MOM Kevin Pietersen (Delhi Daredevils)
Points Delhi Daredevils 2, Deccan Chargers 0

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links