Scores Upcoming Results
17-Aug-2012 09:40:00 GMT
ICC World Twenty20 2012

Thompson in Ireland Squad for Twenty20 WC

Dublin: Uncapped 21-year-old allrounder Stuart Thompson has been included in an otherwise experienced 15-member Ireland squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka, in which only Thomson, Tim Murtagh and Max Sorenson haven't played in a previous World Cup or World Twenty20. The team will be led by William Porterfield.

All-rounder John Mooney has been ruled out of Ireland's squad for next month's World Twenty20 due to a fractured finger which could sideline him for 3-4 months.

"It's disappointing for both John (Mooney) and the team," coach Phil Simmons said as he announced his 15-man squad on today.

He's suffered two finger injuries and this latest one won't heal in time for the start of the tournament.

He's been a major part of the team for the last three or four years and it's disappointing we have to go without him.

Fast bowler Boyd Rankin has been selected despite revealing he would retire from Irish duty after the tournament to focus on his England ambitions.

Rankin, who has recently returned from a foot injury with county side Warwickshire, turned down new deals from Ireland in a bid to fulfil his desire to play Test cricket.

Will Porterfield will captain the squad that includes Tim Murtagh and Max Sorensen -- all of whom have been named to play in a major competition for the first time.

Ireland will open their Group B campaign against West Indies in Colombo on September 19 before meeting Australia in their second and final group game five days later.

Ireland squad for Twenty20 World Cup 2012:

  • William Porterfield (captain)
  • Alex Cusack
  • George Dockrell
  • Trent Johnston
  • Nigel Jones
  • Ed Joyce
  • Tim Murtagh
  • Kevin O'Brien
  • Niall O'Brien (wk)
  • Boyd Rankin
  • Paul Stirling
  • Max Sorensen
  • Stuart Thompson
  • Andrew White
  • Gary Wilson (wk)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links