Scores Upcoming Results
18-Jun-2015 18:00:00 GMT
Bangladesh v India, 1st ODI, Mirpur

Mustafizur's Five-for Leads Thumping Win

Dhaka: Mustafizur Rahman picked up five wickets on debut as Bangladesh beat India by 79-run win in first ODI in  in the first ODI at Shere Bangla Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.

A five wicket haul on debut by left-arm seamer Mustafizur Rahman helped the hosts to take a sweet revenge of the World Cup quarterfinal defeat.

Bangladesh outclassed India in every department of the game and justified all the hypes which were created around this exciting team.

Also with this victory Bangladesh increased their chances of qualifying of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. They need just one more win in their upcoming five ODIs to qualify.

A target of 308 was challenging but not very difficult for this power-packed Indian batting line-up and Indian openers, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan gave them an excellent start of the chase. At the end of 15 overs, India were well on course, with 90 for no loss.

But within the next 30 minutes, the match took an u-turn.

India lost their first wicket in last ball of the 16th over and withing the next 57 balls, the men in blue were five down for 128. Bangladesh pocketed the game within that period.

Earlier, half centuries from Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan helped Bangladesh set India a target of 308 after getting bowled out.

Winning the toss, Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza had no hesitation to bat first.

The openers backed their captain's decision, giving Bangladesh a brilliant start adding 102 runs in 13.1 overs. Both Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar thrashed the Indian fast bowlers to all parts of the ground.

Bangladesh were cruising along at a lethal pace, until a direct-hit from Suresh Raina saw Sarkar getting run-out for 54. The hosts were 119-1 after 15.4 overs when rain crept in and interrupted the play for an hour.

After the resumption of play, Iqbal threw his wicket away giving a simple catch to Rohit Sharma at the score of 60.

Litton Das and Mushfiqur Rahim didn't stay long at the crease. Shakib Al Hasan, however, kept hanging at one end and scored crucial 52 before Umesh Yadav finally got him.

Sabbir Rahman and Shakib took the attack to the visitors. Both of them combined well and produced a 83-run stand for the fifth wicket, guiding Bangladesh to safer shores.

Nasir Hossain played a short cameo scoring 34 runs from 27 balls. Bangladesh did lose wickets towards the end but Skipper Mortaza hit some lusty blows to help the side eventually cross the 300 mark.

For India, Ravichandran Ashwin was pick off the bowlers as he picked up three wickets giving 51 runs in his quota of 10 overs. Kumar did pick two wickets.

Brief scores
Bangladesh -
307 (Tamim 60, Sarkar 54, Shakib 52, Ashwin 3-51)
India - 228 (Rohit 63, Mustafizur 5-50)
Result - Bangladesh won by 79 runs
MOM - Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Scores Upcoming Results
Related links